Einstein Lectures

Einstein Lectures 2018

Barry Barish and his team achieved something which not even Albert Einstein himself believed possible: they obtained direct evidence for the existence of gravitational waves. These oscillations of empty space itself arise, for example, when two black holes come so close to one another that they merge into one.

82-year-old Barry Barish from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) was scientific director of the Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) for many years. This is where, in 2015, direct evidence of gravitational waves was successfully obtained for the first time by using an extremely sensitive detector. It was for this feat that he and his colleagues Kip Thorne and Rainer Weiss were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2017.

At the Einstein Lectures 2018, Barry Barish spoke about what gravitational waves have to do with Albert Einstein, how their existence can be proven, and what significance these findings will have for science in the future.

Video Lecture 1: From Einstein to Gravitational Waves

In the first lecture of the Einstein Lectures 2018, Barry Barish reviewed the development of our understanding of gravity from Newton to Einstein. Moreover, he presented the quest for gravitational waves from Einstein’s original proposal for the existence in 1916 to detection.

Video Lecture 2: Gravitational Waves: Detectors and Detection

In the second lecture of the Einstein Lectures 2018, Barry Barish discussed the experimental challenges to detect gravitational waves, the technical innovations that enabled the discovery and the initial science.

Video Lecture 3: Gravitational Waves and A Future New Science

In the third and last lecture of the Einstein Lectures 2018, Barry Barish reviewed Gravitational wave physics from tests of general relativity to the birth of multi-messenger astronomy. He further discussed the future of the science on earth and in space.

Einstein Lectures

Einstein Lectures 2018

Barry Barish und seinem Team ist gelungen, was selbst Albert Einstein für unmöglich hielt: Sie haben Gravitationswellen direkt nachgewiesen. Diese Schwingungen des leeren Raumes selbst entstehen beispielweise, wenn sich zwei Schwarze Löcher so nahe kommen, dass sie miteinander verschmelzen.

Der 82-jährige Barry Barish vom California Institute of Technology (Caltech) war jahrelang wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Interferometer Gravitationswellen-Observatoriums (LIGO), wo es im Jahr 2015 mit einem extrem sensitiven Detektor erstmals gelang, Gravitationswellen direkt nachzuweisen. 2017 wurde ihm und seinen Kollegen Kip Thorne und Rainer Weiss dafür der Nobelpreis für Physik verliehen.

An den Einstein Lectures 2018 sprach Barry Barish darüber, was Gravitationswellen mit Albert Einstein zu tun haben, wie man sie nachweisen kann und was sie für die Wissenschaft in Zukunft bedeuten werden.

Video Lecture 1: From Einstein to Gravitational Waves

Im ersten Vortrag der Einstein Lectures 2018 sprach Barry Barish über die Entwicklung unseres Verständnisses von Schwerkraft von Newton bis Einstein. Der Nobelpreisträger stellte zudem die Suche nach Gravitationswellen aus Einsteins ursprünglichem Vorschlag für die Existenz im Jahr 1916 bis zur Entdeckung vor.

Video Lecture 2: Gravitational Waves: Detectors and Detection

Im zweiten Vortrag der Einstein Lectures 2018 erläuterte Barry Barish die experimentellen Herausforderungen bei der Erkennung von Gravitationswellen, die technischen Innovationen, die die Entdeckung ermöglichten, und die anfängliche Forschung über Gravitationswellen.

Video Lecture 3: Gravitational Waves and A Future New Science

Im dritten Vortrag der Einstein Lectures 2018 untersuchte Barry Barish die Gravitationswellenphysik von Tests der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie bis zur Geburt der Multi-Messenger-Astronomie. Zusätzlich blickte Barish auf die Zukunft der Wissenschaft auf der Erde und im Weltraum.

Ein Tschirpen für die Ewigkeit

Ein Nobelpreisträger – und erst noch ein Geschichtenerzähler: Barry Barish hält die Einstein Lectures 2018 an der Universität Bern. Zum Auftakt berichtete der Physiker aus erster Hand von der Entdeckung der Gravitationswellen.